Celebrating Greek Life Accomplishments at ASU

This year’s annual Greek awards celebrated both the accomplishments and successes of ASU’s Greek community for 2012. The event was held this past Saturday at the Memorial Union and included beverages, hors d’oeuvres and a whole lot of anxious fraternity men and women. Every year, the ceremony illustrates different chapter’s involvement within the community and awards them based on an array of different categories including: outstanding chapter leader, quest for academic excellence and the highly coveted chapter of the year award, just to name a few.

“It is through all of your effort and hard work that we are able to continue to grow and make an impact here at Arizona State University,” said Undergraduate Student Government President and this year’s MC, Mark Naufel.

With more than 3,000 undergraduate students participating in more than 50 chapters, Greek award nominations are taken under serious and conscious deliberation. These awards were created in order to provide a campus and community centered fraternity and sorority system that utilizes the tenants and pillars of the Greek devil way: achievement, engagement and responsibility, said Naufel.

Individual awards are based on nomination submissions, either through self-nomination or through the nomination of someone associated with ASU or the Fraternity or Sorority Community.

This year’s individual award winners are as follows:

Outstanding Emerging Leader: Becca Booker, Alpha Chi Omega

Outstanding Chapter Leader: Juliann Lieb, Kappa Alpha Theta

“I personally love the Outstanding Chapter Leader award that recognizes a chapter member that dedicates themselves wholeheartedly to their chapter but has never served in a chapter president role,” said Greek Award’s winner and former Panhellenic president, Corinne Roels. “Recognizing these leaders not only helps members realize their potential, but also provides the opportunity for others to strive for excellence in their own individual development.”

Individual Excellence in Service: Darius Enos, Epsilon Sigma Rho

Quest for Academic Excellence: Kirsten Adams, Pi Beta Phi

Outstanding Chapter President: Caitlin Sanford, Pi Beta Phi

Freshman of the Year: Lindsey Warress, Alpha Delta Pi

Sophomore of the Year: Caitlin Hallahan, Alpha Delta Pi

Junior of the Year: Kristina Babos, Delta Zeta

Senior of the Year: Corinne Roels, Chi Omega

Chapter Advisor of the Year: Sandy Frey

While enrolled at ASU, Larry Ludden Jr. was a member of Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity and participated in numerous chapter and campus activities. Ludden was known for putting his “heart” towards his chapter. To commemorate this, his family and friends have endowed a $1,500 scholarship that is awarded every year to one sorority woman and one fraternity man. This year’s winners of the Larry Ludden Junior Memorial Scholarship were Jenny Bruce of Chi Omega and TJ Guerrero of Pi Kappa Alpha.

Following suit, Order of Omega members present at the ceremony were recognized for their high standard of leadership and academic excellence.

Chapter awards are based on monthly submissions of the Greek Devil Way, and the 2012 winners are:

Greek Collaboration: Delta Zeta and Delta Chi for co-hosting the “I have a choice” alcohol awareness program

Achievement Awards:

Outstanding Annual Chapter Program/Event: Omega Phi Alpha

Leadership Training Achievement: Kappa Delta Chi

Engagement Awards:

Engagement in Community Service: Gamma Alpha Omega

Engagement in Philanthropic Giving: Chi Omega

Engagement in Community Involvement: Kappa Alpha Theta

Responsibility Awards:

Responsibility in Risk Management: Alpha Delta Pi, Pi Beta Phi, Tau Psi Omega

Final Awards:

Fraternity Member of the Year: Terrell Harris, Kappa Alpha Psi

Sorority Member of the Year: Corinne Roels, Chi Omega

Concluding the ceremony, were the awards that Greek members vie for most and work for annually and collectively: the President’s Cup and the Chapter of the Year Award.

These awards are bestowed upon the chapters that excel in all areas of the Greek Devil Way and the bi-annual report. Additionally, the President’s Cup is given to the chapter that exceeds the expectations of their national headquarters, advisors, and the office of fraternity and sorority life. This year, these titles were awarded to:

Chapter of the Year:

IFC: Pi Kappa Phi

MGC: Sigma Lambda Beta

NALFO: Kappa Delta Chi

NPHC: Delta Sigma Theta

PAN: Kappa Alpha Theta & Pi Beta Phi

President’s Cup: Sigma Lambda Beta

“Greek awards is a chance for the men and women of all councils to come together and support each other, as well as learn from them,” said Panhellenic President, Leah Osadchuk. “This is a chance where we support each other, regardless if affiliation.”

Congratulations to all the men and women that were nominated. The real trophy is in the letters worn by every Greek man and woman who helped to make a difference in the ASU community.

Posted by on April 23, 2013. Filed under Chapters,Community. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply